Ten Years

Hard to believe it’s been ten years
I remember being asked where I saw myself in five
Back then it all seemed so clear
I achieved my goal of graduating college to thrive
Little did I know I’d get ill before a career

Flash forward to now, six years after
My oldest nephew is finishing high school and my health is improved
I’m proud to see him finish up this chapter
He’s had some rough times, but he’s still pushing through

This time of reflection to see where I once was
To see now where he is, it’s all a whirlwind
Because the focus will be now on what he does
As my role is reversed from being the uncertain kid, to the adult providing direction

He has had his ups and downs personally
While dealing with hardships and trials
It hasn’t been an easy task for him to experience all the adversity
But he has managed to progress, giving the rest of us all smiles

I’ve been proud to be an Uncle since his birth
It’s given me more purpose and self worth
It’s been a title I’ve had for the majority of my time
And it isn’t one I ever plan to leave behind

Soon his grade school experience comes to an end
Ten years after mine had from the same establishment
Such a unique time to be involved in this celebration
I hope he too will continue to push forward toward a purposeful destination

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

