River

I’ve often thought about the times you told me I could fly
To the sky in which a great glory resides
The day that comes when it’s all said and done
Crying now in pain, when one day that will all be left behind in the shade
I’m not one to go around expecting a parade
Each time I do something well, because it doesn’t mean we have to celebrate
I want to exchange my success for the cure of someone else’s heartache
The days that we face full of pain, but put a smile on our face as a charade
Can’t be forgotten because you can’t hide all your problems
I looked once and once again saw the notion of commotion
That entangles our mind sending chills down our spine
Poverty and violence are worldwide, but it needs to subside
I’ve anticipated change and instead accepted blame
I’ve hesitated when I should’ve remained motivated
I can’t seem to recall when it was I last rose from this fall
Each time I enter the world it feels so cold
So let it snow, as it’s often said and it’s no longer winter
When will the heat of summer spark a fire toward desire
To diminish this explicitness that we encounter
I’ve lived a smart life, but remain clueless
Intelligence comes through learning, but experience produces wisdom
If it isn’t you than it’s me left questioning why so many accept being empty
That pit deep inside isn’t hard to find
You look in the mirror in horror at times
Wanting things you don’t have instead of being thankful for what you do
In order to find that happiness you think is hiding you must seek
Open your hearts and eyes to those who are weak
Provide your strength to match their need
So at the end of the day their strength can be your remedy
It isn’t hard to see we’re connected
That’s the answer to your question
If you treated each other with love and dignity
There would be many more peaceful cities
I say a prayer because I know He’s listening
For the health and well-being of each individual living
Regardless of your stance or belief
I outstretch my hand to help you if you need relief
Doesn’t matter your age, gender, or ethnicity
The thought of you being harmed displeases me
I’m in the country that claims that it’s free
When in reality we all can plainly see
It isn’t this life that truly grants us that legacy
It is said that one man can change the world
But that event already happened
Before the diamonds and before the pearls
A simple, yet extraordinary gift was given
Many choose to deny the existence
When facts have proven this particular mission
I sense that the world is going in the wrong direction
Each day there’s a story that shows the misconceptions
Just because the times change doesn’t mean we should sin
Self indulgence isn’t a recipe for togetherness
Pleasure shouldn’t be defined solely to the physical
Because temporary is no comparison for the eternal
I hate to think about all the tragedy lingering this very moment
By the time these words have been spoken
Chances are someone has suffered in some way, shape, or form
And the only way to persevere through all these storms is to kneel before the Lord

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

